Ninja Fight – 1985

Posted: 23 September 2014 in Arts, Movies, Music, Personal History, Retro

When I was in high school, one of my dreams was to become a film maker. I had made some stop-motion animation tests in Eighth Grade, mostly with a black-and-white video camera and Betamax machine but also some 8mm film (which never got developed). I’m not sure if the videotapes still exist or not, but I did find one tape a few years back that contained a martial arts (ninja) movie I made in high school circa 1985. The tape had deteriorated so bad that it was barely salvagable. The in-camera edits caused many dropouts and glitches because the Beta VCR we used didn’t have a flying erase head.

I edited it a bit with some sound effects and slow motion just to play around with iMovie and get it down to a tolerable length. I also added the original soundtrack (also salvaged from an old audio tape) back in since the copy I had was an older edit. No amount of editing or digital restoration can help the content though.

Anyway, here it is…

Leave a Reply

